Skip to main content
Serving the People of Brevard County, Florida
HomeRecycling Awards

Recycling Awards


The Recycling Awards Program was originally created by LWVSC member Jerry Jagrowski in 1997. The goal was to award Brevard County elementary, middle and high schools for their efforts towards recycling within their school.

Mr. Jagrowski ran the program for many years with the assistance of the Brevard County Solid Waste Management Department and Brevard Public Schools.

In 2013, Mr. Jagrowski invited Marcia Booth, then a new member of the LWVSC, to be the new coordinator and carry on with the program. In the same year, Brevard County Solid Waste Management Department announced they would not be able to assist with the program any longer, so Mrs. Booth began to work directly with Laura Kandiko, Brevard Public Schools Facilities.

The requirements changed once Mrs. Booth took over the program, but every year the LWVSC, in collaboration with Brevard Public Schools, invites all schools in Brevard County to participate: tour our landfill, create a project describing that experience, and submit their project to be reviewed and recognized according to posted rubric.

It is our main goal to motivate students to think about ways they and their school can reduce waste and increase our recycling rate instilling in them an appreciation for the environment and the need to conserve our precious natural resources.


2017-2018 Recycling Awards Program

Application to our 2017-18 Recycling Awards Program is open and can be submitted using our online Recycling Awards Program - School Application Form.

All Brevard County elementary, middle and high schools are invited to participate.

Important Dates
Application forms are due by January 22, 2018   <<EXTENDED!>>
Entry submissions are due by April 27, 2018

For more information, download our 2017-2018 Recycling Awards Program packet. Applications can be filled out online at

Members who would like to volunteer to judge submissions, please contact Marcia Booth, Recycling Awards Program Coordinator. Judging will take place in April 2018 at Brevard Public Schools.

2016-2017 Recycling Awards Program Results

Thank you to all participants and to our volunteer judges. Congratulations to the 2016-17 selected schools!

Award Recipients

  • Freedom 7 Elementary School
  • Herbert C. Hoover Middle School
  • Palm Bay Magnet High School

Honorable Mention

  • Lewis Carroll Elementary School
  • Stone Magnet Middle School


  • Andrea Bolitho and Wanda Scanes from Brevard County Solid Waste Management Department
  • Anne Everly and Joseph Montemurno from Brevard County Schools
  • Hope and Larry Ascher from League of Women Voters of the Space Coast